Baby Sea Turtle Lovey/Mini Blanket

I have been wanting to start a blog for a long time.  I love to talk crochet, and I’m pretty sure all my friends are tired of me telling them about my new favorite yarn (but seriously, have you seen Shawl in a Ball from Lion Brand).

This has also been a best seller on my Etsy Shop, but again, my fingers can’t work fast enough to make them for everyone, so I’m sharing my secrets. Many people order the Baby Sea Turtle Baby Blanket along with this lovey.  . The Baby Sea Turtle Throw is even bigger.

This one is a quick project, I can make one of these while my boys are taking a nap, and if you have made the baby blanket, or the throw, this can be made with leftover yarn.

Save this to Ravelry

Supplies:

  • I love this Yarn, one skein of each color.
    • Color 1-Antique Teal
    • Color 2-Peacock
    • Color 3-Turquoise
    • Color 4-Glacier
    • Color 5-White
    • Color 6-Light Taupe
  • Size J Hook
  • Size H Hook

Baby Blanket Pattern:

Row 1 – With Color 1, ch 59, dc in 4th ch from hook, dc in next 4 ch, dc2tog, dc2tog, dc in next 4 ch, 2 dc in next, *2 dc in next, dc in next 4 ch, dc2tog, dc2tog, dc in next 4 ch, 2 dc in next* repeat from * to * to end.

Row 2 – Ch 3 turn, dc in same st, dc in next 4 st, dc2tog, dc2tog, dc in next 4 st, 2 dc in next * 2 dc in next, dc in next 4 st, dc2tog, dc2tog, dc in next 4 st, 2 dc in next* repeat from * to * to end.

Row 3-35 – Repeat Row 2

To create ridges, when changing colors, work in blo for that row.

Color Pattern

6 Rows of Antique Teal

1 Row of Peacock

2 Rows of Antique Teal

 

5 Rows of Peacock

1 Row of Turquoise

2 Rows of Peacock

 

5 Rows of Turquoise

1 Row of Glacier

2 Rows of Turquoise

2 Rows of Glacier

 

2 Rows of White

6 Rows of Light Taupe

Baby Sea Turtle Pattern

Baby Sea Turtle Pattern by Kristin Jacobs

Make 2. I used lime green as color 1 and hunter green as color 2.  I did not make the back, but instead attached them to the blanket.  Due to the nature of the project, I did not stuff the turtles so there wasn’t a choking hazard.

Starfish Pattern

Size H Hook
Gold Yarn

Round 1 – Magic circle, ch 1. 5 sc in magic circle, join with a sl st, pull tight. (5 sc)

Round 2 – ch 1, 2 sc in each st, join with a sl st,

Round 3 – *Ch 7, sl st in 2nd ch from hook, sc in next 3 ch, hdc in next 2 ch, skip next sc, sl st in next sc* repeat from * to *, finish off, leaving a long tail to attach to blanket.

Assembly

Weave in all ends.  Use a whip stitch to sew the baby sea turtles and starfish.

Picture_20170309_132207202

 

Leave a comment